Bookmarks has not yet published a review of this book. We may do so in the future; in the meantime, please see the other review sources to the right and browse the information from Amazon.com below.
Random House
176 pages
Product Description
For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, <i>Every Day Is for the Thief</i> is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, <i>Open City,</i> was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications.<br> <b><i> </i></b><br> <b><i>Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud.</i></b><br> <b><i> </i></b><br> A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the “yahoo yahoo” diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet café, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market.<br>  <br> Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life—creative, malevolent, ambiguous—and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself.<br>  <br>In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, <i>Every Day Is for the Thief</i>—originally published in Nigeria in 2007—is a wholly original work of fiction. This revised and updated edition is the first version of this unique book to be made available outside Africa. You’ve never read a book like <i>Every Day Is for the Thief</i> because no one writes like Teju Cole.<br> <b> </b><br><b><b>NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY</b><br> <b><i>The New York Times • Chicago Tribune • Marie Claire • CNN • The Huffington Post • New York • The Millions • Time Out Chicago</i></b><br></b> <b> </b><br>“<i>Every Day Is for the Thief, </i>by turns funny, mournful, and acerbic, offers a portrait of Nigeria in which anger, perhaps the most natural response to the often lamentable state of affairs there, is somehow muted and deflected by the author’s deep engagement with the country: a profoundly disenchanted love. Teju Cole is among the most gifted writers of his generation.”<b>—Salman Rushdie</b><br><br>“<i>Every Day Is for the Thief</i> is a vivid, episodic evocation of the truism that you can’t go home again; but that doesn’t mean you’re not free to try. A return to his native Nigeria plunges Cole’s charming narrator into a tempest of chaos, contradiction, and kinship in a place both endearingly familiar and unnervingly strange. The result is a tale that engages and disturbs.”<b>—Billy Collins</b><br> <b> <br></b>“[Teju Cole] casts a spell that’s hard to classify. . . . <i>Open City</i> earned its author comparisons to the German writer W. G. Sebald, whose work wanders and ruminates in a similar way. <i>Every Day Is for the Thief</i> includes photos that Mr. Cole took in Lagos, a Sebaldian touch that is likely to keep the comparisons coming.”<b>—<i>The New York Times<br></i></b><br>“Rich imagery and sharp prose . . . widely praised as one of the best fictional depictions of Africa in recent memory.”<b>—<i>The New Yorker</i></b><br><br>“Versatile, courageous, and hopeful . . . Cole writes without shock absorbers, and the ride is as terrifying as it is gorgeously set.”<b>—<i>Interview</i></b>